Select Page

GAINESVILLE, TX – With National Hospital Week being celebrated in May, North Texas Medical Center held their annual Employee Recognition Ceremony on Wednesday, May 8.
The ceremony included recognition of employees who reached milestones in service years at NTMC, as well as several special awards.
The Employee of the Year for 2023 was Sandra Walterscheid, the Nurse of the Year was Chris Tidwell, the Director of the Year was Jenny Stuart, and the Dan Wilford Award for Community Service went to Kellie Crisp.
Walterscheid was presented her award by Chief Nursing Officer Bonnie Hess. Walterscheid has been with NTMC since 1984 and currently is a Registered Nurse in the Emergency Department.
Hess also presented the Nurse of the Year award to Tidwell, who has been employed at NTMC since 1999. He is currently a House Supervisor in the Nursing Administration department.
The Director of the Year award was presented to Stuart, also by Hess. Stuart has worked at NTMC since 2022 and is currently the Director of Inpatient Services.
The Dan Wilford Award recognizes not only an employee’s importance to the hospital, but also the work they do in the community. Hess noted that Crisp, who works in Case Management, goes above and beyond for patients. She has personally purchased items for patients including shoes, phone chargers and clothes. She has even been known to a patient’s home and feed their pets if no one else is available to do so.
Several NTMC employees were also recognized for their years of service to the hospital, including four who have worked at NTMC for at least 40 years.
Fifteen NTMC employees were honored for five years of service including Gala Coakley, Crystal Fields, Bailey Green, Randy Grewing, J’Lynne Johnston, Terri Kniss, Matt Knox, Tanner Marcom, Jennifer Martinez, Yazmin Nunez, Marci Record, Cody Reeves, Penny Richter, Bianca Thompson and Brandi Zavala.
Employees honored for 10 years of service included Laine Cawthon, Joseph Christian, Larry Hennesy, Michelle McAfee, Karina Nobles and Tami Thomas,
Debbie King was recognized for 15 years of service.
JoAnn Hudson was honored for her 25 years of service at NTMC.
Lisa Turner was recognized for 30 years of service.
Two employees were honored for 40 years of service, including Barbie Felderhoff and Rita Motsenbocker.
In addition, two employees were recognized for 45 years of service at NTMC, including Donna Otts and Carla Wolf.
National Hospital Week is an opportunity to highlight hospitals, health systems, and health care workers and the innovative ways they are supporting and connected to their community.
NTMC is celebrating with a safari theme and special treats each day including animal crackers and jungle punch; bananas and nuts; sweet treats courtesy of the NTMC Auxiliary; frozen sips from Happy’s Sip and Dip donated by Cooke County TEAMS, and a hamburger lunch sponsored by Heart to Heart Hospice and Pecan Tree Rehabilitation and Healthcare.

Special award winners included (left to right) Jenny Stuart (Director of the Year), Kellie Crisp (Dan Wilford Award), Chris Tidwell (Nurse of the Year) and Sandra Walterscheid (Employee of the Year).